One on Many!!!! Special!!!!

oaWelcome to “One on Many”. This is a special episode. Today we have in our front a former writer of LRF Studios and Mo Buck’s Writer Association, Ann Morrow(https://sites.google.com/site/lrfimdb/ann-morrow). Winner of 4 Golden Reels and 8 nominations. Welcome Ann, let’s get down to business.

 

1) Let’s get this one out of the system. How is retirement?

I’ve handled my retirement quite well to be honest. I’m still a close collaborator with the rest of the guys at the Mo Buck Writers Association and often work with them on their projects, without writing specifically. I’m still following what you guys are doing on the blog and I must say that I’m impressed with where this is going. I never imagined it would last that long when I started to write in Season 1. Many may ask why I chose to retire and I’d like to keep those reasons personal. For those waiting for my comeback, I say that I want to leave with my head high and people to remember me for something great and I think The Price of Fame did just that, with many Golden Reels and a great performance at the box office. I couldn’t have asked for a better send off. But I’m doing great to answer the initial question.

2) You had 4 releases in the time you spent here. 2 were box office duds and 2 set fire at the box office. How would you describe your journey here at LRF?

Well, I must say that my career at Last Resort Films couldn’t have started any worse than it did, with The Job, one of the biggest bomb in studio history and not receiving favorable reviews. My morale took a hit after this release to be honest, but I didn’t give up on my dream of box office success and critical acclaim with my follow-up, The Hunt. It is my highest-grossing movie and I was pretty surprised by the box office results of this one. It was a pure passion project and I’m glad that some people liked it, I don’t know if you did, personally, but I know deep down that some did. After this one, I thought that I didn’t have enough women in my films and decided to do one about a woman and it gave birth to Amelie, a remake of one of my favorite movie. I was disappointed by the box office and the reception once again, but it wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea to begin with. My last and arguably my best concluded my career in a great way. As I already said, I couldn’t have asked for a better send off. In retrospective, the only one thing I’d change would be Scott Eastwood in The Job, he just wasn’t good at all, that’s my only regret.

3) I heard a rumor in the past few days that a different version of “The Price of Fame”, you most acclaimed work til now was offered to another writer at the association but he didn’t feel it and you were up to the task and you gave us this beauty. Was there any time you wanted to do a story which was picked by one of the other writers from the association?

It’s interesting that you bring that up, because I actually had three different ideas that were picked up by other writers, but those are after my retirement. I was the one who reminded Mo about Cyrano de Bergerac, a play we had to read in a French class together and he made it a movie out of it. The next two, I don’t know if I can talk about them, because they’re both unannounced projects. I’m going to dip my toe a little bit and talk very briefly and vaguely about them. The two of them have women in the leading role. The first one is a project that has been going from writer to writer since Season 3 and was finally picked up by James and set for a Season 10. It is set in the modern day fashion world. The second one is a war movie set in WWII and with the recent reception of La Resistance, I’m not sure Harry Wright wants to pick it up, but we’ll see. It’s in a long time anyway.

4) I fully believe that you keep up with what the studio is up to. I think you know about the recent “Girl/Girl” situation. Can we know your opinion about it?

I think that the pay gap between genders should disappear for actors and actresses of the same stature. Let me explain. Alden Ehrenreich is obviously a star, now at Last Resort Films with his series of films being hits and his performances particularly standing out. He’s coming off a fantastic season and it makes sense for his to be paid accordingly. While I love Ana de Armas and Grace Van Pattten, they’re simply not on Ehrenreich’s level. They do not carry the same star power, so it makes sense for them to be paid less. I must admit that the difference between their salaries was unacceptable, it was way too much. The same thing happened with Mark Walhberg and Michelle Williams with All the Money in the World by Ridley Scott. I’m against such salary gap, but if the difference is small and not really significant, it doesn’t matter. I don’t know the salaries of Armas and Van Patten here, but if Ehrenreich would’ve taken a pay cut and dropped to say $500,000, I think it would’ve been okay. I hope I’ve been clear.

5) The studio writers are high on the Superhero genre? What is your favorite Superhero movie from the studio and from outside the studio?

I really like the Question series and Booster Gold from the studio. I think they did a great job to make mostly unknown characters interesting and I felt immersed in their Universe. Outside the studio, my favorite superhero films were Wonder Woman and the Deadpool franchise. I can’t decide if I liked the second one more than the first one though…

6) “Huntress” is the only female superhero movie which has been announced and is being prepped for a Season 8 release. What do you think is the reason behind a female superhero movie is taking so much time to come to fruition where as we have been seeing male lead superhero movies since season 2?

Well, I was a writer for LRF once and I was surrounded by other LRF writers and we work under certain limitations. There’s understandably a restriction for the number of superhero films per season and to the number of films we can write in a season and I think we go for priorities. If your favorite superhero is a male, you’ll go with him instead of a female. Most superheroes were also created in an era where people thought males sold more than females, so the most popular characters are usually females. I think it can also translate in the real world, there’s so much more male superheroes, so I guess it makes sense.

7) Let me be selfish here. Can you please rank my movies(the one you have seen)?
I’ll rank them backwards from worst to best.

14. Marvelous

13. Inhumans

12. Detective James

11. Share

10. The Banded Ants

9. Trigger

8. Animus

7. Road Rash: Broken Family
6. The Banded Ants 2 – The Mortal Enemy

5. Hawkeye

4. Road Rash

3. The Life Ahead

2. Pudd’nhead Wilson

1. Dishonest

8) When should we expect your awaited return?

Well, thanks for the compliment, but I don’t think my return is “awaited”, unless I’m mistaken. The Association activities are now in the books until Season 10 and with a little long-term project we’re all working on together, it’s possible I could come back with a superhero project of my own, that could ended up fitting with the other projects Mo, Harry and Dominic are working on. It will start with the already announced Captain Atom and with other superhero movies to be written by us, I have expressed interest in writing one down the line, but that’s a long term project. I could come back earlier, never say never.

Thanks for having me on your podcast, it was a pleasure chatting with you, Jack. Best of luck in the future with your projects.

 

That’s a wrap for today’s episode. See you until next time. Those who are waiting for a Round review or a update on recent events are going to be disappointed as Time has not been favorable to me.

2 thoughts on “One on Many!!!! Special!!!!”

Leave a comment